[BLOG] Empire Wars is coming to Ranked Play

[AoE2:DE] Empire Wars is Coming to Ranked Play

Hello everyone!

Will McCahill, our business and data lead at World’s Edge, is here with an important announcement about Empire Wars, Deathmatch, and the future of Ranked play. Please make sure to read the entire blog for full details! Thank you!

This is my first time doing an official blog post for Age of Empires so first, thank you so much for trusting us with this franchise. The reception for everything from the Definitive Editions, to tournaments, to the Age of Empires: IV teasers, have been nothing short of humbling.

I’m here to announce that we will be removing Deathmatch from the ranked queue and replacing it with Empire Wars in an upcoming patch. Believe me when I say this is something we take very seriously and I want to walk you through the logic and why we think this is the right decision for Deathmatch and the wider Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition community…

[READ MORE]

6 Likes

Sound sick! Truthfully havent played this franchise since the old ps2 version of the age of kings, but this idea sound like it will work the charm, making new members at ease and more comfortable and giving them the chance to hone there skills and downpact there play style, great work guys :+1::+1::+1::+1::+1: on effort, keep it upand bring it to xbox consoles please! so we can all get back to it haha

Adding Empire Wars Ranked… awesome!
Removing Death Match Ranked right after the biggest DM tournament of the year… very questionable move.

6 Likes

Honestly, the hype for Redbull Wololo was nowhere near to the hype of Deathmatch Worldcup.

Also would be great to remove Quickplay since it is same as ranked, except for Standard victory for some reason!

3 Likes

I wouldnt complain if lobbies had elo in de. DMer manages to survive HD, they lived on voobly too but their is one fundamental difference to de. Both these older platform had elo systems for their lobbies.