[Dev] AOE:DeepDE

Good morning, everyone,

I’m a computer developer and I’m passionate about artificial intelligence.

So you probably understood the subject of this topic, being a developer you’ll also think that I’ll talk about programming flaws, or current problems with the game, this is not the subject so please disregard this side (I’m just warning you).

Today I’m calling on the community to push the devs to create an API in a common language (Python, C++, Rust…) that will allow us to develop a powerful AI based on current research (Basically Q-Learning, Long Short Term Memory, Reccurent Neural Network, Genetic Learning etc…) because yes your language is cool but no.

Why not?

Because :

• It doesn’t allow us to have matrix or variable (float & numpy etc…).
  • Well, I won’t explain more about why because the first point defines everything.

Conclusion:

I think that the game offers new availability to AI, that SC2, on this one the micro-management is “faster”, the decision making less punitive due to the production time or the harvest time which is “shorter”, the fact that there are only 2 resources, 3 civ and that the maps are “smaller”. We have DeepMind AlphaStar which are a real masterpiece. But I am convinced that AOE II will not be as “easy” to implement because for me AOE II is much more punitive, in the sense that the game is slower and we have more stratagem to carry. This means that the complexity of the choice of the strategy to apply at time T is much more difficult and varies much more than on SC2 which is more monotonous.
Moreover it will allow to learn new technique, new approach, new build order, even beat the top ladder, which will motivate many players, because an AI better than the top 1, allows us to hope to be one day :slight_smile:

So let’s get out this API !
Let’s show what AOE:II’s devs are up to.

Thanks for reading.
Please support us with a comment or a question.

27 Likes

I want to see an AI which beats The Viper or DauT 1vs1 XD