Upper-left panel hiding concept

Hello everyone!
Recently, I came up with a concept for hiding an in-game upper-left panel and posted it on aoe4 subreddit. Originally, I wanted to post it here, but I was only able to register just now. :smiley: Perhaps some of you have already seen it before.

The concept is quite simple - I added a small button to hide/reveal additional information and redesigned the original design to be minimalist, leaving only the essentials.

Overall, the concept needs to be improved for team games, but for 1v1 matches, this feature will save a lot of screen space.

10 Likes

I see this as a must. I’m very in favor of minimalist GUI and show to the user the minimum information using the minimum objects, for example, with icons as you did.

1 Like

Thanks! I hope the developers will create something similar or even better. I am not a UI designer myself, haha

• I have added stills and started working on the HUD panel for team games!

4 Likes

Yeah I like it, I think the only thing I would change is the checkmark on the sacred site icon.

And I assume there would be a little timer on the sacreds and the wonder when relevant.

Last time I saw/played AoE4, the HUD elements were huge and taking up way too much screen real estate. These particular elements you’ve built a solution for were particularly annoying, for lack of better word. As was the giant icon in the middle of the screen telling us what Age we’re in.

If the game someday lets us hide giant UI elements like this as part of the base (un-modded) game, I’m all for it for if/when I ever buy and play AoE4 again.

Allowing us to choose much smaller font sizes throughout the game, and use different fonts, would also be appreciated very much

Maybe a checkmark is too much, but I think something similar is needed preventing situations where a sacred site is captured in 99.9%