[WIP] Ancient Civilizations - Total Conversion Mod

Hi!

As many AOE2 Players, who are used to the game mechanics, I find it odd to play AOE1. The lack of formations, gates, the AI, it doesn’t feel the same as AOE2. Since I’m interested in ancient history, I decided to start a Total conversion mod, that will bring to AOE2 mechanics the ancient civilizations. This is my first attempt in making a mod, so I’m learning while doing it.

Although I’ll be using plenty of the AOE1 assets, this won’t be a strict AOE1 in AOE2 mod. First of all the time set will start after the bronze age colapse. Dark Age, Iron Age, Classic Age & Imperial Age will be the 4 ages.

In the first edition I’m planning to include 11 civilizations:

• Egyptian
  • Hellenic
  • Roman
  • Germanic
  • Celt
  • Persian
  • Arab
  • Phoenician
  • Indian
  • Chinese
  • Steppe Nomads

Even they are not many, each civilization will be able to pick one of many flavor technologies. For example Hellenic Civilization will be able to chose between a Spartan, Athenian or Macedonian technology. Romans would be able to chose between western and eastern, Phoenicians between Tyrian or Carthaginian. Each of these technologies would give bonus and or enable units. For example Carthaginian will be able to recruit Elephants, and Tyrians will have defensive structure and siege bonuses. While the two will share the same civ bonus based in shipbuilding.

I’m trying to make each civilization unique and the most historically acurate as posible. The civs might not be balanced in the first release. A second release would include campaigns such as Alexander, Hannibal and a Roman Campaign. I’m more than open to suggestions or opinions. What would you like to see if AOE2 was based in late antiquity?

Some Han Chinese and Persian buildings and units.:

Egyptian City:

Iron Age Egyptian town with chariots:

37 Likes

Looks nice :slight_smile: